Skip to content

Instructable – Dutch Oven Ham Hock & Bean Soup

01.24.2011


Today was a big day. We literally created a feast. Instructables.com is running a few cooking contests, so I entered them both, the bread contest, and the soup contest. The cooking took about 3 hours, and as I write this I am exhausted. Besides the bread, we cooked ham hock soup and made a pineapple upside down cake. It was my best cake ever.

Check out the instructable here.

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

From → Intermediate

2 Comments
  1. I have a ham bone hanging out in the freezer right now. I'm liking this one!

    Ever try Kingsford Competition briquettes for DO cooking? I know they are hotter faster and not as long lasting but wondering if they would be good for searing then roasting.

  2. I always do this when we buy a ham… it was on sale for less than 2 bucks a pound, and it's fed us for a week.

    I have heard about Kingsford Competition. Everyone I've talked to has had problems, since they don't burn as long. I wonder about doing half competition and half standard in the same chimney. That way the competition light fast while the others get going, and the standard coals burn longer.

Leave a Reply

