Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Sunflower Oat Bread, The Final Chapter

12.19.2010

I’ll never reach perfection in this life, but I think I’ve gotten as close as I can with this bread. If you’re just tuning in, please check out Episode I, II, III, and IV. The saga closes with this final episode. In this episode, our hero, Captain Yeast is caught in a war with the separatists that insist on unleavened warfare tactics…

Well, maybe it’s not that epic. Honestly, I proofed the dough, got it ready and it was too cold out for me to want to cook outside. I actually tried, but my coals didn’t light well, so I put in a bread pan and put it in a preheated oven. This is a second attempt at Episode III. It worked very well, so I’m calling it finished. Also, I’ve used all my sunflower seeds and oats, so I need to get more. I guess I could call it the Bread Formerly Known As Sunflower Oat Bread; but I’m not trying to escape any kind of royalty contracts.

A few things learned in the journey:

  1. Kneading isn’t hard. It’s the funnest part, in fact.
  2. You really can’t knead too much.
  3. You really can knead too little. Do it until you can pull the dough into a clear window.
  4. Even if bread fails, it usually tastes good with lots of jam.
  5. Hot bread made by your hands beats Wonder 10 to 1.
  6. Baking bread can help you survive a Zombie outbreak. It can keep your mind focused so you can have the energy to bash Zombie heads in without losing yours.
  7. Kids love to help cook. Baking bread is perfect for Dad and Son.
  8. Dogs like bread dough. If you leave it on the floor, they will eat some.
  9. If you leave bread dough on a 72 degree heat vent for 3 hours it will start to cook.
  10. Cooking bread in a blizzard isn’t half as bad as eating Wonder bread.

Recipe:
12″ Dutch oven
350 Degrees
60 minutes
8 Servings

1 1/3 cup water
1/2 tbs active dry yeast

2 tbs butter, softened
2 3/4 cups white flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup rolled oats

Warm water and mix with yeast. Set aside to activate. Mix all ingredients and knead until the dough passes the windowpane test. Let raise 1 hour. Bake at 350 for 60 minutes. Let cool before cutting.

5 Stars

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

One Comment
  1. nice posting..
    thank's for your information ^_^
    please visit me too :
    check it out

Leave a Reply

