Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Sunflower Oat Bread Part Four

12.1.2010

This is what it looked like on Sunday when I went to cook on my porch:


I’m not a fan of cooking in a blizzard, but I am a die hard, and wanted to share something with you all. It’s all for you, the readers. I will suffer through the cold and ice, facing peril and treachery just so you can… okay, I’ll stop. But it was cold!

This kidney shape was a result of only having two hands available when transferring the dough to the pot.
Curse you evolution! Where’s my third hand?

If you’re just tuning in, I’ve vowed to make one bread recipe and tweak it until I get it right. Parts one, two and three can be found at the links embedded in this sentence. This week, I doubled the yeast to a full tablespoon, and dropped the water to 1 cup. This made the dough less sticky and easier to work (with the water) but also tasting like yeast. So, as the adage goes, “back to the drawing board”. Initially, we started out with one teaspoon yeast, and the dough rose to probably 50 percent. Then, we did half a tablespoon, and the dough probably rose to 75 percent, but formed a crust on the top, since I put it right on the heat vent. This time, we increased the yeast to a whole tablespoon, and it rose 2x, and formed a crust. It was ready when I left for church, but then sat for 3 hours in more heat, which made it start to cook. I’m getting frustrated, and the only way a geek like me can cope is to go the scientific route. So I charted my progress over the last few weeks:


You notice a trend while yeast increases, so does the rating; however, it crashes on week four, when a full tablespoon is added. Water also was reduced on week four, but without further testing, we won’t know which is the culprit. Kneading time is not graphed, because it was not measured; however, all but week one passed the windowpane test, so I’m throwing that out, pending further failure.

I will post the recipe, but PLEASE don’t cook it. It didn’t turn out. Cook version 3. It worked out a lot better.

Recipe:
12″ Dutch oven
350 Degrees
60 minutes
8 Servings

1 cup water
1 tbs active dry yeast

2 tbs butter, softened
2 3/4 cups white flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup rolled oats

Warm water and mix with yeast. Set aside to activate. Mix all ingredients and knead until the dough passes the windowpane test. Let raise 3 hours. Bake at 350 for 60 minutes. Let cool before cutting.

This time the crumb was pillowy and light, but I didn’t cook it long enough. The recipe calls for 60 minutes, and I cooked it 45. I even took it’s temperature, and it only registered 160, not the 180 needed for doneness, so it was a little doughy, which made the yeasty taste worse. It was edible, even though it was so bad, so it gets a two. The bottom was hard again… I don’t know if I mentioned, but the bottom has been hard and crusty each time I’ve cooked it, so I need to count coals better. I’ve just been doing the three over, three under rule, but maybe 9 coals is too many for the Volcano?

2 Stars

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

