Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Sunflower Oat Bread

10.31.2010


I decided to try bread again, and it didn’t go as well as I’d hoped. First of all, I scoured the net trying to find a recipe that I could do in one day; I’d prepare the dough before church, and bake it when we came home. Mark’s Black Pot has a lot of great ideas, but a lot of his breads are sourdough, and I don’t have a start in my fridge. So I cracked open my bread machine cookbook. Before you all run away, I want to say that while I was tempted to at least do the dough in the machine, I adapted this recipe and did it all by hand. First, I made the mistake of activating the yeast in too hot of water. It was only warm to the touch, but I’m not microwaving any more yeast starts. I think I killed those poor defenseless micororganisms. Next I put all the other ingredients in a bowl and mixed them, adding the yeast water. This gave me a sticky dough, so I added a little more flour and kneaded. I probably didn’t knead enough. We will refer to this as mistake number two. Next time, I will knead until it passes the windowpane test. (and I will actually do the windowpane test. Read Mark’s squidoo lens here for more info.) Then I put it in a bowl, covered it with a towel and put it next to my cold window, where I thought that magically I would get some heat waves and it would rise. Yes, this is mistake number three. We went to church. I came back, and to my utter shock, it had not risen a bit! So, I punched and folded and added the oats and seeds, marked with an *insert your initial here*, and tossed it in the oven for *insert your name here* and me. I baked it for 350 using the 3 over 3 under rule– 3 coals more than the diameter of the lid on top, and three under below. This doesn’t work for the volcano, because it gets hotter. So I burned the bottom. It still tasted good. I rated this a 3 and called it a flop, but it was a good learning experience. I can’t wait to try it again next week. Hopefully, I’ll learn from my mistakes.

Recipe:
12″ Dutch oven
350 Degrees
Baking
60 minutes
4 Servings

1 1/3 cup water
1 tsp active dry yeast

2 tbs butter, softened
3 tbs maple syrup
1 1/2 cups bread flour
1 1/3 cups whole wheat flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/2 cup rolled oats

Warm water and mix with yeast. Set aside to activate. Mix all other ingredients except sunflower seeds and oats. Knead and let raise 3 hours. Bake at 350 for 60 minutes. Let cool before cutting.

3 Stars

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

From → Bread, Dutch Oven

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

