Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Curried Chicken for 20

07.24.2010

Today in Utah is Pioneer Day, the day in 1847 the Mormon Pioneers entered the Salt Lake Valley and settled Salt Lake City. Yesterday we did our semi annual company potluck and I cooked for 20 of my coworkers and their families. The pioneers ate in Dutch ovens every day, and they didn’t have a Sam’s club to pick up a bundle of charcoal from. They had to control the heat of their ovens from the fires. I admire my ancestors for struggling across the plains. I don’t think I could do it myself. I get tired after only hiking 4 or 5 miles, but I’m improving.

This is a really tasty dish. It kind of is the apex of the Asian tangent I’ve been taking lately. That means its all down hill from here. Don’t worry, we’ll be cooking Teriyaki Burgers tonight, so I’ll ease out of this funk nice and slow. It serves 20-30 people, so you may need to scale it down for your needs. Personally, I would add even more curry and some red pepper. I like the taste of spicy curry, but some like it a little blander.


2 – 12″ Dutch ovens
350 degrees
45 minutes

Split the following ingredients evenly between 2 pots:

8 pounds chicken tenders, sliced
curry
ginger
paprika
onion, chopped
bell peppers, chopped
potatoes, cubed
garlic, chopped
2 pounds yogurt, plain
2 cans coconut milk
cilantro, chopped

Saute garlic and chicken in oil. Add spices and half the cilantro. Add onion, peppers, potatoes, coconut milk and yogurt. Bring to boil and simmer 30 minutes. Serve over rice or rice noodles.

5 Stars

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

