Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Crisp Peach Cobbler

07.19.2010


Tonight we were invited to dinner at Mike & Lindsay’s. A few months ago, Mike and Lindsay gave their dog to us, Rowdy. He’s a very well-behaved yellow lab. We brought Rowdy with us so their kids could play with him again. In a few months, we will do the same at our house. I asked Lindsay at church today what I could bring to dinner, and she said dinner was pretty much covered, so bring dessert. I decided (and moreover, my stores decided for me!) to do a cobbler. We picked yellow cake mix and peaches. I wanted to kick it up a little from the normal cobbler, so I added oatmeal and sunflower seeds. It really took it over the top, and I’m finally getting the hang of doing cobblers. I know, it’s funny- I can’t do a dump cake, but I can do lasagna, curry, pork, creamed fish fillets, all this “hard” gourmet food. Lets just say baking wasn’t my forte. Mom and I would cook together, and that’s where my love of cooking came from. I left the baking up to her and my sister. I just enjoyed eating cookies, (and cookie dough) I couldn’t bake them.

Recipe:
12″ Dutch oven
350 degrees
Baking
30 minutes

cake mix, yellow
1 stick butter, melted
2 cans peaches
handful oatmeal
handful sunflower seed kernels

Dump peaches in greased Dutch oven. Shake cake mix, oats and seeds over fruit. Melt butter and pour evenly over the top. Do not stir. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes, rotating the lid often. Serve plain or ala mode. (That means dripping in ice-creamy goodness!)

5 Stars

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

From → Dessert, Dutch Oven, Easy

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment