Skip to content

July’s Theme – Forcing Myself To Use Recipes…

06.28.2010


Announcing the Back Porch Gourmet’s first monthly theme!

“Forcing Myself To Use Recipes”

I’ve just ran the theme past my wife, and first she said, “I don’t think your food will taste good” and then “I don’t think you can do it” and finally “It isn’t in your genes”. Very funny honey. Well, they told copernicus, gallileo and columbus the world was flat, but only one had the ghutzpa (and the money) to do it, so I’m going to do it! THANK. YOU. VERY. MUCH.

So all during July I will be scouring our cookbooks, the web and the encyclopedia galactica for recipes. Want something featured? Send me an email at backporchgourmet at gmail dot com. Send me your submissions quick, I’d like to get my shopping done soon. We’ll give credit where credit is due, and if I had any cool prizes I would send you one, but alas, this is a low budget blog. I really need to sell out.

Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. After reading that I was excitedly thinking, “Hey, I'll send him a recipe for a side dish”…and then I realized, I too never use recipes for more than a rough guide. I usually never have all of the ingredients, have too many of something I need to use up, or just have my own crazy ideas…my girlfriend has been telling me for over a year I need to write them down and keep better track of them. But to me they are all the same, “what sounds good + what is on hand + heat + cast iron + a quick skim of an alton brown recipe + fresh herbs (and a dash of bacon salt) = delicious”.

  2. For me, cooking sans recipe is the easiest- I don't find it easy to be tied to the structure of a recipe. I usually will use one as a guide, but mod it too much to be recognized as the original.

    You should start a blog, and then you have an electronic catalog of all your recipes, replete with success and failures.

    If you start one, drop me a line, I'd like to read it!

    Good luck!

  3. Great idea Andy, I'll figure out what to send off to you.

Leave a Reply

