Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Chili Dogs

06.28.2010


This turned out to be one of those “It would have been good if…” meals. I am getting more confident at cooking beans. Well, I mean taking those rock hard, dirt cheap little thingies, soaking them, sorting them, and cooking them into really good soups and chilies. Or so I thought… We made this camping, and I soaked the beans in our fairshare mug, and I think I crammed too many in there, because they didn’t soften very well. We were just too darn hungry, and we thought a storm was gathering, so we ate it anyway. (No storm all weekend!)

Recipe:
12″ Dutch oven
350 degrees
Roasting

2 cups beans
1 packet seasoning
ground beef
onion
tomato sauce
and because you only brought one can of tomato sauce, ketchup
hot dogs

Soak beans overnight. Braise ground beef and saute onion in seasoning. Add beans and tomato substances. When ready to eat, add hot dogs and cook for 10 minutes.

2 Stars
Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

One Comment
  1. I'm not much of a fan of just ordinary hot dogs. This would be great with some brats or smoked sausage links!

    I like cooking my beans from scratch, too, but I'll occasionally take them from cans. I don't know why, but I like the taste better if I soak them from dried and cook them myself.

Leave a Reply

