Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Elephant Ear Scones

05.30.2010


Today we cooked soup and scones, one of our favorite meals. I didn’t want to heat up the kitchen, since its about sixty degrees. So we made the soup inside, and cooked the scones in cast iron, since it not only tastes better, but gives you super powers.

Recipe:
By Laura Johnson
2 cups milk, scalded
1/2 cup shortening

2 pkg yeast, dissolved in:
1/2 cup warm water

3 eggs
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp salt
6 cups flour

Preheat 1/4 inch of oil in bottom of 12″ Dutch oven. Beat ingredients together and wait at least 10 minutes. Roll dough then slice or cut with cookie cutters. Fry in hot oil, 2 minutes per side until golden brown.

5 Stars
Bon Appetit! The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

From → Dutch Oven, Easy

2 Comments
  1. Your makin' me HUNGRY! We LOVE Scones…I could use a dose of those SUPER POWERS too 🙂

    I'm camping with our Scouts next weekend, guess they are in for a little treat.

    It's been a while since I made them, guess I better get cooking. MMMMmmmmm

  2. How do you think Iron Man flies? Arc Reactor powered rocket suit? No way. He eats all his food cooked in cast iron.

    Enjoy the camp. I love cooking outdoors, and since they made me a scoutmaster, I get more opportunities.

Leave a Reply

