Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Cinnamon Glazed Roast

03.30.2010


Mark over at Mark’s Black Pot challenged me to a second Dutch Oven Duel. My best friend Eric and his wife Heather were long over due for a visit, and Eric had just had a birthday, so he needed to pick up his present- a new soldering iron, so he can nerd it up. We had them over and cooked a full three course meal. It was delicious!

The challenge ingredients were:

Beef
Scallions, Green Onions or Leeks
Cinnamon

I was really wary about cooking this. After all, beef and cinnamon? Come on, how could I possibly put those together? Mark did a great combo with ground beef and cinnamon served over potatoes and artisan bread. How could I get good results? I actually had a self-actualizing moment complete with adrenaline rush and heightened senses. It was really cooking zen at its best. You could call it “Cooking on Ten”. It’s a feeling I can’t describe easily. I can’t wait to do it again!

Recipe:
12″ Standard Dutch oven
350 Degrees
60-90 minutes

1 Beef Roast
Cinnamon
Nutmeg
Mesquite Barbecue Spice Rub
Barbecue Sauce
Leeks
Green onions.

I started by picking some green onions growing in my garden, and diced them small. I cut slits in the roast and stuffed onions inside. I rubbed the roast with all spices above and seared all sides. Chop the leeks and add them to the dutch oven. Bake for 60-90 minutes until desired cooking temperature is reached. Mine was mostly well done, with just a little bit of rareness. It was so tender.

Part II will share the potatoes and Part III will talk about dessert. Stay tuned!

5 Stars

Bon Appetit!
The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

One Comment
  1. Wow. This looks GREAT! These challenges really push us, don't they?

Leave a Reply

