Skip to content

Dutch Oven – Chicken Pot Pie

01.25.2010


Tonight we had my wife’s parents over for dinner. I had debated heavily over what to cook for them, but I knew it would be a “Chuck Wagon” meal, because I’ve been cooking too many “Gourmet” meals lately. I had made this before and it turned out really well. I always get stressed cooking for company, because I’m under the gun and I have deadlines. Yet, I keep doing it every weekend. I guess you could say I’m a glutton for punishment.

This is very simple, and short of leaving it to burn for 6 hours, I don’t think anyone could mess it up. It consists of a liquid filling and a biscuit top. This is great for campouts, because if you use precooked or canned chicken, you don’t have to worry about refrigeration.


350 degrees
12″ Standard Dutch Oven

Oil
Garlic, chopped
Chicken breast, cubed
Season Salt
Pepper
Parsley
Celery, chopped
Carrots, chopped
Potatoes, cubed
Onion, cubed
1 Can chicken stock
2 Cans cream of chicken soup
Bisquick

Saute the garlic in the oil to release the flavors. Add the chicken and spices, braising until almost cooked through. Add vegetables and saute. Add chicken stock and soup. Bake for 30 minutes. Add mixed Bisquick to top in dollops. Bake for 10-15 minutes until biscuits are golden brown and pass the toothpick test*

5 Stars

Bon Appetit!
The Outdoors Start at Your Back Porch!

*The toothpick test is to poke a toothpick through the thickest part. If it comes out clean, it is done. If it is doughy, it needs to be cooked longer. This is a standard test for all dough-based dishes including cakes.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

